Akanmode Emerge Vice President Of National Shea Products Association


The National Shea Products Association of Nigeria has elected new national officers. At the Annual General Meeting held recently at the conference hall of the Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment Abuja, Mohammed Ahmed Kontagora emerged as the New President of the Association with Ali Saidu and Mr Richard Akanmode as Vice Presidents I and 2 respectively.

Also elected are Adamu Modibbo as secretary general, Ibrahim Maliki assistant secretary while Abubakar Bagudu Dallatun Kalgo becomes the publicity secretary. Ahmed Tarika and Alamin Umara, acting chairman AFAN Borno state, both retained their positions as treasurer and financial secretary respectively.

Other members of the executive committee elected at the meeting include Alh Ibrahim Bagudu, Dauda Lawal, Dr Ibrahim Mohammed of FUT Minna and Saratu Asuku as ex officio members.

In his acceptance speech soon after the election and subsequent inauguration, the new President Ahmed Muhammad Kontagora called for a united shea family to pave way for repositioning the shea sector to an enviable position in the nation’s agricultural commodity placement.

He assured that programs will be designed to promote robust entrepreneurship activities aimed at empowering rural women who formed the bulk of shea value chain membership as well as address the problems of indiscriminate felling of economic trees for domestic purposes.

He promised that traditional leaders will be engaged in the shea industry sustainably project in their respective communities across the country. Ahmed Kontagora then paid glowing tributes to the past leadership of the association as well as all ministries and government agencies who made indelible contribution to the growth of the shea sector in the country.

Guests at the occasion include representatives from the Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment, Raw Material Research and Development Council, Nigeria Export Promotion Council, the Kiwozi of Kaiama in Kwara state, Hon Ahmed Ibn Muhammad; Director General Niger State Commodity Export Promotion Agency, Hajiya Fatima Wushishi and Federation of Agricultural Commodities Associations of Nigeria (FACAN) among others. Oath of allegiance was administered on the new leaders by chairman of electoral committee, Alh Musa Labaran Wamba and was witnessed by members of the Jibrin Bokani led former council of the association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *